Money Buys Happiness for Others

I do agree with this ted talk that you are happier if you spend money on someone else than yourself. You feel the effect more when you give to someone else. One summer night I just got off work and was going home. It was 1 in the morning and I have worked all day. I stopped at the McDonalds on my way home and got two cheese burgers and a fries and a large drink. I drove off to the corner where there was a light and a homeless man was asking for money but he could not see in my car due to my dark windows. At first I was happy he couldn’t see me because I felt bad because I wanted to help but didn’t have any cash on me. I let when the light turned green and about a mile away I realized that I haven’t ate any of my food yet, so I turned around and went back to the spot where I saw him. I rolled down my window and told that I don’t have any money on me but I do have the food I just got and haven’t ate any of it yet. I knew this wasn’t much, but it was something. He was beyond thankful and he told me that not many kids give him things and he asked me what I was going to eat now. I told him that I was on my way home from work and that I had left overs I am going to eat at home. I finished talking to him and left for home. I smiled and felt so good better than I would of as if I ate the food myself. I got home and ate a Peanut Butter and Jelly sandwich when I got home and for some reason it tasted better than ever. So I do agree that if you buy other people or help out someone in need that it makes you way happier than if you buy something for yourself.

give

Leave a Reply

